Becoming Parents

My parents never allowed pets in our house. Growing up, it was always a dream to have a dog as part of the family but they never believed that my sister and I could handle the responsibility. I put the idea of having pets on the back burner when I moved to San Marcos to start my college career. I knew that I would never be able to handle a pet on my own since I was always between my apartment and my home in Leander.

Now, at 24 years old, I am finishing my senior year in college and planning my own wedding! Life sure flies fast, doesn’t it? Since living together, Mike and I have always wanted a dog to love and care for. Mike, my fiancé, grew up around dogs and had always encouraged the idea of giving a dog a home. I am happy to say that Mike and I will be sharing our home to not one but two little Shih Tzus in need of home. We originally planned to only adopt one but since neither of us have any impulse control, we decided to adapt two brothers from a litter.

I have always wanted to be a mom but I never thought it would come this soon. By no means am I comparing children to dogs but I know that both require a large amount of attention and responsibility. I am nowhere near ready to be a mom to my own kids but I have never been more ready to take care of Cooper and Ollie, our little puppies. Knowing that we would have these little guys for at least the next 15 years melts my heart. Cooper and Ollie will be a part of our lives and we are so lucky to have them.

-Cindy Le

Standard

Leave a Reply

